Google I/O 2022: Translate adds support for 24 new languages, including Assamese, Mizo

Google Translate now supports 24 new languages, which don’t typically see much representation on most technology platforms. The company made the announcement at its I/O 2022 keynote on Wednesday. This new addition brings the total number of languages ​​supported by Google Translate to 133. The search giants claim that the newly added languages ​​are collectively spoken by over 300 million people in different parts of the world. Some notable additions include the Mizo language, which is spoken by 300,000 people in northeastern India, and Lingala, which is used by about 45 million people in Central Africa. The update brings several indigenous US languages, such as Quechua, Guarani and Aymara, to Google Translate for the first time.

In this effort, Google Many professors and linguists were included who originally spoke these languages. It is also a technical milestone for the company as these are the first languages ​​to be added. Google translation Using zero-shot machine translation. This technique uses a machine learning model that “learns to translate into another language without looking at any examples.” Google says the technology isn’t perfect, however, promising to refine it to provide a similar experience when translating popular languages ​​like Spanish or German.

At the Google I/O keynote, the company also announced new features for Wear OS and Android tablets, in addition to unveiling the new Wallet app. The search giant also made extensive changes to Search, including multisearch improvements and a new visual exploration feature. Another major announcement was about phishing and malware protection in Google Docs and new virtual cards for online payments.

Here’s a full list of the 24 new languages ​​now available on Google Translate:

  • Assamese – Northeast India
  • Aymara – Bolivia, Chile and Peru
  • Bambara – Malik
  • Bhojpuri – India, Nepal and Fiji
  • Dhivehi – Maldives
  • Dogri — Northern India
  • Ewe – Ghana and Togo
  • Guarani – Paraguay, Bolivia, Argentina and Brazil
  • Ilocano – Northern Philippines
  • Konkani – Central India
  • Krio – Sierra Leone
  • Kurds – Iraq
  • Lingala – Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Angola and the Republic of South Sudan
  • Luganda – Uganda and Rwanda
  • Maithili – Northern India
  • Meiteilon (Manipuri) — Northeast India
  • Mizo – Northeast India
  • Oromo — Ethiopia and Kenya
  • Quechua – Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador
  • Sanskrit – India
  • Sepedi – South Africa
  • Tigrinya – Eritrea and Ethiopia
  • Tsonga – Eswatini, Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe
  • Twi – Ghana

for the latest tech news And AnalysisFollow Gadgets 360 Twitter, FacebookAnd Google News, Subscribe to us for the latest videos on gadgets and technology Youtube channel,

Dapper Labs Raises $725 Million Fund to Help Expand Flow Blockchain Ecosystem

Apple ends iPod line after 20 years: History, major models and launch dates of the iconic music player

Source link

Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment