Recent Match Report – India vs South Africa 2nd T20I 2022

Toss: South Africa chose to bowl vs India

After pulling off their highest successful chase in T20Is in Delhi on Friday night, South Africa opted to field first in the second T20I in Cuttack. Temba Bavuma admitted that he based his decision on the proceedings at Arun Jaitley Stadium, where the surface became better for batting as the match went on, but is unsure if this surface, in Cuttack, will play the same way. However, given the confidence South Africa’s line-up showed in the first match, they would prefer to stick to a winning strategy.
The visitors have slightly different personnel at their disposal for the second T20I, after Quinton de Kock was ruled out of the match with a hand injury. Reeza Hendricks will open the batting with Bavuma and Heinrich Klaasen was included as wicket-keeper. That left no room for Tristan Stubbs, who did not bat on debut on Friday.

India are unchanged from the XI that posted their highest total against South Africa, which means we’ll have to wait to see Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh in action. The Cuttack crowd, who piled in to India’s training session on the eve of the match, don’t seem to mind who’s playing. An hour before play was due to get underway, the ground was already 70% full.

India: 1 Ishan Kishan, 2 Ruturaj Gaikwad, 3 Shreyas Iyer, 4 Rishabh Pant (capt, wk), 5 Hardik Pandya, 6 Dinesh Karthik, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Harshal Patel, 9 Avesh Khan, 10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal.

South Africa: 1 Reeza Hendricks, 2 Temba Bavuma, 3 Rassie van der Dussen, 4 David Miller, 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 Dwaine Pretorius, 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Kagiso Rabada, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Source link

Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment