These services of Facebook will not work after May 31

Facebook It looks like it’s ready to pull the plug on some of the services that collect users’ location. These services include nearby friendsweather alerts, Location History, and other location-based features. The company sent users who have used these services in a previous notification, notified of this.
“Nearby Friends and Weather Alerts will not be available after May 31, 2022. The information you shared, which was used for these experiences, including location history and background location, as of May 31, 2022.” The latter will stop being collected, even if you have previously enabled them,” Facebook said in a statement.
The company also confirmed the same news to The Verge. Company spokesman Emile Vazquez said in an emailed statement, “While we are removing some location-based features on Facebook due to low usage, people can still use location services to manage their location. How the information is collected and used.”
However, this does not mean that Facebook will completely stop using users’ location. As it said in its note to users: Facebook will “continue to collect location information for other experiences” to serve contextual ads and location check-in, in accordance with its data policy. Yes, users have the ability to view, download or delete any location data.
Facebook message to users
Since you have previously used Friends Nearby, Weather Alerts, Location History or Background Location, we are telling you that these products and features will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. The information you shared that was used for these experiences, including location history and background location, will cease to be collected after May 31, 2022, even if you have previously enabled them. Facebook will continue to collect location information for other experiences as otherwise described in our Data Policy.
update your settings
You can update your current location history and background location settings facebook app Till May 31, 2022. After this date, the settings will be disabled.
access your location history
If you want to view or delete your current location history, you can access your information and download your information before August 1, 2022. After this date, if you do nothing, your existing location history information will be automatically deleted.

Source link

Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment